PA Position Available

PA Position Available

PA POSITION AVAILABLE – IMMEDIATE START REQUIRED

I am a 47-year-old man living in the Stansty area of Wrexham. I am a wheelchair user and live with Friedreich’s Ataxia. Subsequently, I require 24/7 care and require administrative support to remain independent. I am an author and disabled activist with a good sense of humour. I remain ambitious and adventurous. I am a very creative individual and require support to make my ideas happen. Due to my poor dexterity I struggle to type so I dictate emails and other written projects to my personal assistants.

Summary of duties:

·      Good word-processing and general computer skills involving keeping my blog and social media up to date.·    Support to access various social and recreational activities – hospital appointments, special occasions I wish to attend, travelling on holidays.·       Clean driving license – to drive my vehicle to enable me to access activities.·       Personal care, including toileting, washing, dressing, eating, drinking.

·       Household duties such as preparing meals and cleaning.

The person I am looking for:

The ideal person will have a good sense of humour and should also display plenty of energy, initiative and enthusiasm. In addition, applicants should be patient and trustworthy with a flexible and empathetic attitude. A positive attitude and clear understanding of confidentiality is essential. Promoting my independence and to assist with communicating via emails, social network and enabling me to socialise and live independently will be the main focus for any support. There is a mixture of hours available, mornings, days, evenings and sleep ins which can be discussed at interview. You must be reliable, friendly, flexible and punctual. Fixed contract hours available and bank hours available – additional hours available when required for holidays/sickness.Please get in touch by email on – nathanleedavies@gmail.comFacebook – Nathan Lee Davies

Twitter – @nathanleedavies

Rate of Pay:         

Flat Rate – £13.00 per hour.
Sleep-ins – £98.10 Flat Rate.

Double time paid on Bank Holidays.
5.6 weeks paid annual leave (pro-rata)

When I last posted this job advertisement I received criticism from many corners. The problem was that I stated that I was looking for Admin support. A lot of people were confused as to whether I wanted a fully trained PA or a typist to help me reply to emails, write the blog that you are reading right now or future books that I might have inside myself.

This morning I have also been working on my Art projects that I am hoping to develop in time to launch a festive online store to create an extra revenue stream from my creative hobby.

The thing is that members of society have very  out dated assumptions about disabled people as a whole. Speaking for myself, I do not conform to any stereotypes, but the same applies to 100 percent of the disabled that I know.

I am definitely my own person and I am proud not to be like everybody else. I am constantly swimming against the tide and thanks to the people that I work with, I am able to be as independent and original as possible…

Share this:
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Email
Shopping Basket
Pre-Order Form

Dirty Old Town